Happy New Year 2015: Mj’s Year in Review

●▬▬▬▬๑۩۩๑▬▬▬▬▬●
Happy New Year 2015: Mj’s Year in Review
●▬▬▬▬๑۩۩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

pizap.com14201478857741

●▬▬▬▬๑۩۩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

This year has been a long and hard one and I’m so glad 2014 is finally gone and in the past.

My debut novel, ‘A Telltale Secret‘ was released worldwide on April 10th, 2014. While I’m very proud of this accomplishment, It’s bittersweet because I’ve had to part ways with my publisher. I have not let this drag me down though, as you will soon learn as you read on!

The Summer of 2014 was difficult with the passing of my paternal grandmother and niece. My grandma was a huge part of my life and while she’s at peace, I still miss her dearly and probably always will. She loved that I was writing and she loved hearing about my query journey. She always encouraged me to keep going. I’m very grateful that she had the opportunity to read ‘A Telltale Secret‘. I’ll never forget the look on her face when she first held it in her hands. My niece Kristen was 24 when she passed away. She was such a beautiful girl and she had so many friends, having touched so many lives. She was a college graduate and she had such a bright future. She was also a big supporter of my writing and always had something encouraging for me, to say.

The month of November was both happy and sad, too. A few days before Thanksgiving, my Aunt Gracie, my grandmother’s sister, passed away. She made really yummy Italian Sauce and I will so much miss hearing her swear in Italian. It was so funny! On November 29th 2014, I submitted a 50,000 word novel to NaNoWriMo. I’d never written a novel in less than a month before, so it was so amazing to do it. I tried a few times before, but never completed a novel on time. I guess I can give the real credit to Perseverance. The title of that book is ‘Angel of Darkness‘.

I skipped the holiday season this year because I just couldn’t get it together. I couldn’t get myself into the spirit of the holidays. So, instead of finding my nearest neighborhood dog, tying antlers to it’s head and stealing Cindy Lou’s tree, I began working on ‘Secret‘, my rewrite of ‘A Telltale Secret‘.

As I’ve been writing, I’ve been making Teaser Posters as well. I want to start posting them, but I really want to see My Author Page on Facebook reach 2,000 LIKES. I’m so close!

●▬▬▬▬๑۩۩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

Secret

I’m very happy with where my rewrite is going. I’ve switched from the first person point of view to the third person. I feel this is allowing me to create much more realistic characters. I think this time my readers will be able to see and understand them the same way I do. I’ve also removed some characters and added new ones. This is also working out so much better for the chemistry between everyone and it feels much more balanced. This story is dramatically different from the original and I am loving it so much more!

My Current Word Count is 22,480 Words with 95 Pages. 

My Target Word Count is 65,000 Words.

My Editor-Gemma Williams

5e82dc7eeaac87311f02376e9021b7ac

Gemma’s Writing Page on Facebook

If you’re wondering how long we’ve known each other, my best guess is 2 years. Gemma Williams caught my attention quick, the All-Star stalker of my life that she was. She was at one time, my most active follower on my Facebook Author Page and she probably still is.

We bonded over Yoda and The Minions. It’s amazing what two people can do when they combine their imaginations together. We soon began talking about forming our own publishing company together. When I parted ways with my publisher, we decided it was the perfect time to start the formation of Maidenstone Press. 

We plan to release ‘Secret‘ under Maidenstone Press together, as well as the four remaining novels in the series and it’s prequel trilogy. I believe that with Gemma’s exceptional ability to edit and proofread, my story will be written in it’s very best version. She’s a massive influence over my rewrite and I’m constantly talking with her about it. I am very lucky because she’s not afraid to be honest with me and tell me when I need to change or omit something, and she always has some ideas for something different. She tells me what I’m doing wrong and what I’m doing right. She’s one of those people who makes me wish she had windows in her forehead, just so I can see how her mind works.

Gemma is a graduate of the University of Hull in England, with a degree in Sociology and Criminology. She’s the Co-Owner of Maidenstone Press and she’s the Head of Books and Editor with I’m With Geek.

She’s been working on a story of her own for some time now, but is hoping to complete a 1st draft in 2015. I’m really excited because I love her writing. She has the potential to be the next JK Rowling. That’s how amazing her writing is and how much I believe in her. I’m very lucky to be her Beta Reader because I get to see what everyone else has to wait for. I promise, it will be worth it when you all finally get to read it, too!

●▬▬▬▬๑۩۩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

Mine and Gemma’s Goal for 2015 together, is to make it onto the New York Times Best-Seller’s List as an Author/Editor Team. We want to do it Independently with Maidenstone Press.

With a little bit of luck, we’ll be able to do that and go even further!

Keep Watching for my Cover Reveal and Release for ‘Secret‘!!!

●▬▬▬▬๑۩۩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

One thought on “Happy New Year 2015: Mj’s Year in Review

Leave a Reply

